Search Articles By Category or Keyword

Lorman Education Services Seminar: Current Issues in Legal Holds — Are You Prepared?

  • Latest Trends and eDiscovery Case Law Newsletters

Posted on September 8th, 2010

Benefits

If there ever was a honeymoon on preserving discoverable documents and data for litigation … it’s over now. The stakes are higher than ever, and so are courts’ expectations for parties and their lawyers. Organizations simply must have in place a compliant legal hold process that effectively preserves discoverable documents and data.

This audio conference will help you understand the changing compliance environment for preserving discoverable documents and data. You will be able to build a legal hold process that meets legal requirements, contains costs and manages risks, as well as align your legal hold process with other key initiatives, such as early case assessment, ordinary course practices for document and data management, and information privacy and security compliance.

Agenda

The Legal Hold Imperative … and How the Bar is Rising

  • Preservation Obligations and Spoliation Sanctions
  • Containing Costs
  • Managing Risks

Compliant Legal Hold Processes

  • Policy, Process or Both?
  • Building the Right Process With the Right Resources
  • Practice Makes Perfect

Legal Holds in Context – The Bigger Picture

  • What Is ECA and Why Do I Care?
  • Laying the Foundation – Ordinary Course of Business Practices for Records and Information Management
  • The Overlap with Information Privacy and Security Compliance

Faculty

Deborah H. Juhnke, Husch Blackwell Sanders LLP
Peter B. Sloan, Husch Blackwell Sanders LLP

Deborah H. Juhnke

  • Director of Information Management Consulting at Husch Blackwell Sanders LLP
  • Assists clients on legal hold processes, preservation, information management policies, information security, retention scheduling, data and practice mapping, and legacy data management
  • Provides eDiscovery consulting services, including development of electronic discovery plans and early case assessment
  • Client industries served have included public utilities, retail and food management, manufacturing, b-to-b services, financial services, education, hospitality services and health care
  • Frequent speaker at ARMA, AIIM, HTCIA, and other regional and national conferences regarding electronic discovery
  • Wrote numerous articles on ESI and records management topics in Digital Discovery & e-Evidence, The National Law Journal and The Practical Litigator
  • More than a decade of experience consulting with the country’s largest companies regarding eDiscovery and litigation readiness matters
  • Former vice president of Computer Forensics Inc. in Seattle, as a senior consultant and industry pioneer
  • Member of the HTCIA, the Sedona Conference® Working Group I, AIIM and ARMA International

Peter B. Sloan

  • Partner at Husch Blackwell Sanders LLP
  • Focuses on a single issue – how companies can best manage their records and information
  • Helps companies across the United States create and validate records retention schedules, implement records management and information governance programs, and develop and deploy legal hold systems
  • Presents at national conferences on legal hold processes, and records and information management topics
  • Member of ARMA International, AIIM and the Sedona Conference® Working Group I

Continuing Education Units

  • CLE (Please check the “Detailed Credit Information” page for states that have already been approved)
  • NALA
  • NFPA (Pending)
  • Paralegals
  • Additional credit may be available upon request. Contact Lorman at 866-352-9540 for further information.

Detailed Credit Information

Additional credit may be available upon request. Please call 1-866-352-9540 for more information.
Only registered attendee will receive continuing education credit.

Who Should Attend

This audio conference is designed primarily designed for attorneys. Other legal professionals may also benefit from attending.

Date: November 9, 2010 Date: November 9, 2010
1:00 pm ET (12:00 pm CT, 11:00 am MT, 10:00 am PT) 11:00 am ET (10:00 am CT, 9:00 am MT, 8:00 am PT)
 
Live Teleconference: $199.00 Live Teleconference: $199.00
Teleconference ID: 386838 Teleconference ID: 387234
 
 
Live Teleconference + CD: $268.00
Register Now   Best Value
Live Teleconference + CD: $268.00
Register Now   Best Value
 
Can’t Attend the Live Teleconference?
CD/Manual Package: $179.10

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *